The Phones Are Coming

Picture it: fall semester of your freshman year of college. You don’t know anyone and you’re (awkwardly) trying to make friends. And how do you coordinate your lunch dates? Through text messages and phone calls, of course! But imagine for one day, one, simple day, that your beloved cell phone was taken away from you. How does that make you feel?

Well in my freshman year of college, it happened. In my Communications in a Global Context class, my professor created an assignment in which our class was challenged to go without all technology for 24 hours. WHAT?! I know. And let me tell you, not having my cell phone was one of the hardest things…I’m not proud to say that, but it’s true. I am addicted. It’s my way of communication! Ah! That day was nice to step back, but man, are we addicted.

Cell phones are scary. I mean, I love them and am a proud owner of an iPhone 4, but that doesn’t change the fact that cell phones have (somewhat) taken over the lives of Americans.

Agree? Disagree? Well, I’m sure that people hold a lot of different opinions, but Andrew Keen of CNN brings a great argument that I believe to be pretty close to true. One of the main points made pretty quickly in the article says the following about Americans as consumers of cell phones: “With our increasing addiction to our mobile phones, we are in danger of creating a monster that we are less and less able to control,” according to a CNN blog.

Although this is a harsh statement, it’s true. Siri for the iPhone is a prime example. It learns what you like, where you go the most, what you ask for the most and uses that information to better your experience. So don’t worry – you don’t have to decide where to go to dinner tonight because Siri will do it for you!

We are addicted. Addicted, I tell you! We can’t help it. We need to know everything…NOW. We can’t wait. Twitter on my phone told me when Osama bin Laden died and it will probably give me a heads up as to who my next president will be. Cool, right?

Courtesy of Digitalbuzzblog.com

The numbers are pretty scary, though. According to an infographic from Digitalbuzzblog.com, one-half of all local searches are performed on mobile devices, by 2014 mobile Internet should take over desktop (computer) usage and 86 percent of mobile Internet users use their devices while watching TV.

Now that’s what I call multitasking.

Leave a Reply

