The Monster Inside of Our Cell Phones

I used to tell myself that I would never be one of those people who would be obsessed with his or her phone. My sister, who is three years younger than I am, has already gone through 3 different iPhones in her lifetime. I am a stickler for being cheap and I didn’t want to buy an expensive iPhone. I kept telling myself, “your BlackBerry and iPod Nano are good enough for you. They work just fine!”

It all started this summer when my iPod decided to stop turning on. Not even charging the battery would help. I tried to be cool with it and chose to use my computer whenever I was in need of music. Then September came along and the screen to my BlackBerry went black. I was able to receive calls, and texts, but didn’t know who was calling or what the text message said.

People who are addicted to their technology feel like a part of them is missing if they don't have their phone.

This was the last straw. The following morning, I went to AT&T and bought my first iPhone (cheaper than buying a new phone and a new iPod separately), and that is when it all went down hill and I broke my rule; I became obsessed.

In his article titled, “How our mobiles became Frankenstein’s monster,” Andrew Keen comments on the world’s addiction to their phones.

“When was the last time you went without your smartphone? How naked, how lost, do you feel without your mobile device? How much essential data, I mean really personal stuff that you wouldn’t want anyone else to see, does your mobile phone contain?”

When Keen makes the analogy comparing our addiction to the monster of Frankenstein, I see his point. If my phone is somehow not by my side, I get a little anxious. Not only does my phone receive texts and calls but it also receives emails. When I’m without my phone, I feel like I’m missing out on everything in my life.

Keen is afraid of the high level of technology in our world and how it will affect our future.

Keen is nervous about how smart our phones are becoming. Between Apple’s Siri and her British competitor Evi, our phones are starting to have the same brain capacity that humans do and have, to some degree, reasoning capabilities.

With phones becoming so smart, it can be great for helping us in our daily lives with activities like finding directions and looking up restaurants but our phones are slowly going to fade into the controlling monster that Keen predicted.

Eventually we're going to have a greater relationship with our technology than with other human beings.

We’re eventually going to rely so much on our phones that we would have a stronger relationship with them than with any human being in our lives. Checking our email, Twitter, Facebook, Tumblr, Instagram, and any other social networking site is going to become more important that checking in on family members, or remembering to call someone on their birthday. It’s alright, your phone will do it for you.

Leave a Reply

